Election Season Starts, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram, Telangana and Chhattisgarh get ready to vote

The Election Commission announced schedule for voting for five state assemblies – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram, Telangana and Chhattisgarh. With the announcement model code of conduct has come into play into Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh. In Telengana it was already in force.

As per the announcement Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram will go to elections on November 28, Chhattisgarh to vote in 2 phases on November 12 and 20. Rajasthan, Telangana will have their polls on December 7. State assembly election in Chhattisgarh to take place on 12th November and on 20th November.

The counting for all states will be Dec 11.

The elections can be seen as a precursor to the general elections next year. In 2013, three of these five states – Rajasthan, Mp and Chattisgarh – voted for BJP and rallied behind Modi as he stepped into role of a national leader from his own long shadow in Gujarat. The general election that followed in less than six month, BJP nominees winning in all the said states and helping Modi become PM of the country.

This time around, however, things are not so smooth in Rajathan and in MP and BJP will have an uphill task to retain the two states. Congress too, after securing Karnataka, is hoping for windfall gains in Rajasthan and hopes to give a tough fight in MP


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The true light is that of knowledge and information. We are a group of informed citizens, some are journalists by profession, who are here to share our opinion and take of world. While we know we are not always right, we always try to have a perspective that is backed by first hand information. We would love to hear from you on how we can do better, just post your comments on any of the articles that you think can be improved.

Copyright © 2017 The

To Top